Meet the Burrages!

IMG_7568IMG_7560

Click here to hear the Burrages play Haydn

The Burrages share their experiences learning an instrument:

“I began learning the string bass when I was in third grade.  I didn’t
really take to it because it was hard to carry around so I switched to drums
and violin in 4th and 5th grade.  I had to pick between drums and violin in
6th grade so I chose violin.  In 8th grade I decided to play the cello.  I’ve
been playing cello now for almost three years.  Thing is, I almost quit music
after the first instrument, and if I had I would never have known how good it
feels to play music.  I really think all the other instruments helped me to
become a better musician all around.”   – Zach Burrage, age 16

“I began learning violin in 3rd grade.  It was a lot of fun, but
it got harder as I went along.  I stayed with it, even when at times I was so
frustrated I was ready to cry.  I just kept trying.  I’d put it down, then pick
it up again.  The more I practiced, the easier it came.”   – Lydia Burrage, age 16

“I started playing the violin in 2nd grade.  It was fun and easy
at first, then my teacher wanted me to practice and I hated that.  Almost seven
years later, and I still don’t like to practice.  Once I start it, it’s fun,
because once you start to sound good on a piece, it’s really cool and then you
want to keep going.”   – Miranda Burrage, age 14

Many Thanks to the Burrage Family for volunteering on Thursdays at the Chittick!

Leave a Reply

